Wednesday – WOD

“Helen”

Three rounds for time of:

400m run
21 kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood
12 pull-ups

Post time to comments.

Katy hits triple extension during "DT".

Katy hits triple extension during "DT".

A big congratulations to Mike McNaughton for passing the Firefighter Written Exam. What do you think the odds are that this monster passes the Physical Agility Test?

26 Responses to Wednesday – WOD

  1. babs says:

    Oh….Helen….you are mine!

  2. MeganS says:

    Congrats Mike!! 🙂

  3. GregH says:

    damn. this is gonna be hard to do up at Ravenna…

  4. K*Dawg says:

    14:06 is that bad? i’m out of shape 😦

  5. Neil says:

    Congtats Mike. I think u have a good chance of passing the physical exam as well. 😉

  6. Kristen says:

    Today’s workout was a breeze compared to the CALAMITY at CFN at 6 a.m. this morning… NO TOILET PAPER!!!!

    I ponder… could this have been an intentional ploy to weed out the meager from the mighty at our CFN? I was NOT deterred…!

    NOTES TO SELF:
    1) No morning Java pre-CFN
    2) Stop at Sam’s Club after work – TP

    My Workout? “Modified Helen” for aching bod (row for run)
    15:10

  7. McNaughton says:

    Thanks guys.

    As long as they don’t require a sub-5 Fran I should be alright….HA!!

  8. Megan says:

    Needed to do a modified version of Helen as well due to the lack of skin on my hands.
    Subbed ring rows for pullups which were much more difficult for me than kipping and were more broken than I expected.
    10:41
    Next time as prescribed and I will beat that time, guaranteed.

  9. arjuna says:

    Mike, in case you were wondering the City has you run the combat challenge for your agility test. Its slightly modified. This Saturday you can run the coarse up in Milford in the Target parking lot from 9-noon. This time is open for anybody who wants to run the coarse wether they are a firefighter or not. The only differance is that you will not be able to wear the bunker gear.

    This is the official combat challenge tower and coarse so you will be timed and competing against others. With or without gear it is a bitch.

  10. Neil says:

    10:09. 30 seconds off pr although I went ctb which, I’m not going to lie, seemed harder.

  11. Brent says:

    Welcome back, Kels! U have much room to improve on that Helen time, and I have no doubt you’ll be under 10 by summer.

    As far as the early morning shenanigans, Kristen continues to amaze, single-handedly destroying our TP supply and all previous records for AMRAP toilet trips in 60 minutes with 5. We may have to install a linen closet to accomodate a larger supply…

  12. Jason says:

    Geez Neil nice work that’s impressive based on my experience so far with the ctb.

    For my part with limited equip I did 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 of parallel dips hands to shoulders to full ext, puships, and KTEs at local park

    14:45

  13. Jason says:

    Brent u forgot to mention that Kristen’s aformentioned AMRAP record is either a female record or tied with your PR. I know u can do better than that and I’m pretty sure I’ve witnessed it.

  14. Stephen says:

    8:27

    Chest-to-bar. A PR of :24 over my non-CTB. Wouldn’t have happened without Tim chasing me on round 3 – it’s appreciated.

  15. Neil says:

    Nice work esteban!!

  16. Tim says:

    9:08

    CTB, not happy with the run but this was my first real Helen, no treadmill and kettlebell instead of dumbbell.

  17. Brent says:

    9:21 chest-to-bar

    All were unbroken until last set of PUs, at which point the forearms were about shot. Came off the bar after #6 and #10, unfortunately.

  18. Brent says:

    Actually, Jason, my pr is a measley 3.

    Hats off to Kristen, who shaved 12 minutes off her Helen time today. Maybe she’s onto something…

  19. Scott says:

    Throwing up for the 3rd time is keeping me out. SOrry to see that I’m missing the Crossfit Proctology Exam Workout

  20. babs says:

    13:15
    PR by 53 sec

  21. Melissa H says:

    18:27 with 20 lb and green band.

  22. Tim V says:

    17:02, with the blue band yet again, since the string o’ kips is still not a skill I have mastered. Yet another item on the list of Things I Need To Do To Breathe Fire.

  23. Kristen says:

    yes, brent, that additional linen closet may be a good idea…my Sam’s Club purchases will be delivered to CFN via semi tomorrow.

    Note to all: please, don’t squeeze my Charmin

  24. Susie Q says:

    Back to it!!! Helen in 11:57 wit 25 pound kettle band and Brent tells me I have to tell you that I used the blue band with the pull-ups. So there. Still not bad for an old lady!!!!! Nice day to be running.

  25. Jim Stilg says:

    Can’t wait to do this tomorrow!!!

  26. […] time to comments. Compare to 041509. Chad fully extends during his first experience with the […]

Leave a Reply

