Friday – WOD

“Michael”

Three rounds for time of:

800m run
50 back extensions
50 sit-ups

Post time to comments. Compare to 042409.

Jenna and Megs T enjoy the calm row before the storm.

Jenna and Megs T enjoy the calm row before the storm.

23 Responses to Friday – WOD

  1. JennaB says:

    ummm i should probably pull up my pants next time you’re taking pics from behind… lol warn me!

  2. Tim V says:

    Well, it’s not a 5K, but it is more running. Sweet!

  3. Holly says:

    “Twins”
    28:41
    I did 65lb thrusters and 10 L pull-ups with 10 kipping pull-ups. My HSPUs are about 2 ab-mats.
    I was so tired before I started and now I am ready to go back to bed. Could someone come over and watch my kids?

  4. Scott says:

    Nooo!!!!!

  5. jordan says:

    hell yeah the day that i am gone is the day I get a good time!!! ill make it up. Jason is going down

  6. Neil says:

    Yikes, Not what I wanted to see today, my legs are fried.

  7. Brent says:

    Made up “Twins” today. And to think I was actually excited when I saw this pop up.

    22:39

  8. Kevin says:

    Subbed 40 GHD situps for Abmat
    18:48

    plus one sweet muscle-up (a Crossfit milestone for me)

  9. JennaB says:

    25:18…yes i know i’m slow shut up, brent. then i helped rearrange everything at the gym. and now i probably won’t be able to get out of bed tomorrow. thank heavens its a rest day!!

  10. Stephen says:

    16:58

    PR by 1:01 from last month – Regional Qualifiers still have me fired up!

  11. arjuna says:

    Ill be doing this WOD tomorrow. Stephen, Brent, Get the red marker lubed and ready.

  12. Damn, Stephen. That’s smokin’ fast! I’ll have to make another visit up there to get some good competition. I’m WODing alone down here!

    On Monday, we’re doing “Murph” if you all wanna come down. Nothing special, just gonna have it for each of the classes. We only have one ratty vest though…

    Congrats Kevin on the muscle-up!

  13. Megan says:

    I second the congrats on the muscle up!! Great job Kevin! I can’t wait to get my first!
    Today as rx’d 22:23 pr by 2:53!! Wohoo! First set unbroken of back extensions and whole set in 6:30… Now if I can just keep that pace.
    So happy for a rest day!

  14. babs says:

    25:53
    2 min Peeeeeyaaaaaah!

    Yesterday:
    Front Squat 5×3
    85-90-95-100-105

  15. Tim V says:

    26:00. Sounds crappy, until you realize this time I did it as Rx’d, on fried legs, and still dropped 45 seconds.

    Yeah. Badassery will come in time.

  16. Glenn says:

    16:09 as Rx’d and I owe much of it to Neil who minutes before blazed solo to a 16:10 earning the coveted red marker. Aaron’s quick 1st 800m run also needs to be credited as a motivator.

    This was a special WOD and probably one of those experiences which yields results well beyond the simple workout. Perhaps I’m just high on lactic acid but hear me out…

    First, I would encourage everyone to read Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell. (I know, what the hell is this a book review? No, but a repeated theme in this extrodinary tale is mentally managing what can seem insurmountable when taken in aggregate. Also the book adds incredible depth to understanding CF’s “Murph”.)

    Today’s WOD (like most) was a series of events offering numerous opportunities to be overwhelmed to the point of convincing ourselves to back down. However, when breaking each segment into smaller mentally manageable blocks sometimes we discover that the blocks aren’t so bad. This happened today on the back extensions and I was able to get the last 50 uninterrupted.

    Finally, Luttrell recently spoke in Cinci. He talked about covering 7 miles (wounded as hell) by going in 5 feet increments motivated by an unflinching desire to get water. (He stated he didn’t want to go to Hell thirsty!) With my water bottle within arms reach, I thought of Luttrell and decided I could peel my tongue off the roof of my mouth after the WOD. Ironically, taking a moment to drink would have easily cost that one second and ultimately, the difference between a red marker and black marker time.

    Truly, every second counts and the mental challenge of CF (inspired by true heroes) is an awesome thing. Your turn Arjuna…

  17. Stephen says:

    Beautiful, Glenn. I’ve very rarely witnessed a performance like tonight’s third round, and I love knowing that you got more out of it than just the red number.

    I highly recommend that you read “The Passion of Command” by Col. B.P. McCoy, a short manual on developing in Marines the very mental discipline that Luttrell displayed.

  18. Melissa H says:

    subbed 25 back extensions

    27:32

  19. Jason says:

    wow heavy stuff

    16:20 again

    I’ll b back

  20. arjuna says:

    15:44

    PR by 1 minute! Thanks to everyone who was out there cheering me on. Armando, it was good seeing ya in the “Nasti”. Come again soon!

  21. Susan says:

    24:48 PR improving by 4 minutes. It must have been that ice cream truck the last time that slowed me down. LOL It was a hot saturday this week but there were many cheerleaders and crossfitnasti crazies working out and challenging each other. Feels good!!!

  22. Scott says:

    I think my time was around 27 minutes…

  23. […] time to comments. Compare to 052209. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Thurday Nov 6, 2008Thursday Dec 11, 2008Friday […]

Leave a Reply

