Tuesday – Make-up/Skill/Rest Day

Post work and results to comments.

First week at CFN, first MU for Nick K.

First week at CFN, first muscle-up for Nick K.

27 Responses to Tuesday – Make-up/Skill/Rest Day

  1. GregH says:

    Following a day of rest for the Army Ten-Miler I did the
    power clean, sit up, back extension WOD. However, I forgot the round of 21.

    8:00 flat
    18-15-12-9-6-3
    powerclean 95lbs, sit ups, back extensions.

    It is reasonable to assume that a round of 21 would add at least 1/3 to my time.

  2. Melissa H says:

    Let me tell you guys a little about the charity I suggested. Even if we don’t row for them, I want to spread the word about their charity.

    The Cure Starts Now was started by a family in Wyoming whose daughter died at 5 of brain cancer. Keith and Brooke started the Cure Starts Now charity ~ 2 years ago to raise awareness and money to fight pediatric brain cancer, Keith was surprised at the lack of funding for this and has essentially dedicated his life to the fight.

    When their daughter was diagnosed with cancer she started writing notes for her family and hiding them around the house. They wrote a book about her and their story that will be released at the end of October titled “Notes Left Behind”.

    These are really nice people who have turned their personal tragedy into a cause.

  3. Melissa H says:

    Congratulations Nick!

  4. Megs T says:

    Nick- Congrats!
    Glenn- I’m totally in… maybe we could get some rowers from CJRC or from UC, Xavier to jump on the contribution train, bringing extra publicity along with extra meters and awareness about CFN! Just a thought. 🙂

  5. Boomer says:

    Mel, what a neat way to bring awareness to a local cause that most people know very little about!
    Count me in for a 24 hr rowathon!

  6. Nick K says:

    Thanks, now I’m sure I can look forward to doing many more of them =).

  7. Greg M says:

    What an amazing story Melissa! I can totally bring my weak rowing skills to fill in when the tall people are taking a break 😉

  8. JennaB says:

    Awesome story Melissa! I really think we should use that! (No bias here with my job and all, lol) I’m trying to think if I know who you’re talking about, we see a lot of those cases. It may have been before my time here but others may know of her.

    Congrats Nick!! 🙂

  9. arjuna says:

    In regards to tomorrow’s wod…..Tim, please no Hero workouts pre surgery. 🙂

  10. Keri says:

    Brent and Steve – I was supposed to come in today, but I just got recruited for a kickball championship, so I don’t think I can make it. I should be on the schedule for 5:30 tomorrow though.

    On a sidenote, I love the charity that Melissa suggested and would definately be in for a rowathon!

  11. Melissa H says:

    Jenna-Her name was Elena Desserich.

  12. Josh says:

    “Helen” – 15:53
    Thanks to John B. for the face off.

    Nice work Nick.

    Glenn, I’m in to row. As for charities, I’ve always been partial to Wounded Warrior, but any are good.

    Also was thinking about seeing if some CFN members wanted to get together and work on a Habitat for Humanity Build some Saturday.

  13. Power clean – 175x3x5
    Snatch balance – 146x3x5
    Push press – 165x3x5
    Metcon – 3 rds of 100 m sprint & 30 swings of Thor’s hammer in 7 min.

  14. Keri says:

    I would also be in for the Habitat build. I’ve done one before and it’s a really rewarding experience.

  15. Rich V. says:

    What a great day at CFN!
    Deadlift 3×3: 311/315/317 PR
    “Annie” in 7:08, unanchored situps. First time doing it.

    Also, I messed around with Split Cleans… Got up to 185 which is also my max squat clean. That’s great news for the split, but bad for the squat…

    Good times!

  16. Dustin says:

    Rest day:
    20 tire flips for time. -1:34-pr

  17. Megs T says:

    -BS strength bias 100 3×5
    -3 rounds warmup
    -A lot of pull up work… got 2 in a row and a couple only w one swing
    -Then situps and stand with kettlebell in chest got up to 60… then was going to hurt my uterus (per glenn) with the 70lb’er, so i stopped

  18. Ted says:

    Lots of miscellaneous stuff:

    Broad jump 9′ 3/4″ – was a record for about a minute until Mike completely embarrassed me.

    Max DU’s – I got nowhere close to my name appearing on the board

    Farmer’s Hold – I made it about 1.5 minutes. Again, nowhere close to the record.

  19. Nick K says:

    “Helen” – 13:17 and i got to meet some new people. It was good times 🙂

  20. Jeff says:

    30 Muscle-ups – 8:42

    8.5 minute PR…I’ll take it

  21. Jeff says:

    PS – knocked Brent off the board with 8 in a row to open it

  22. McNaughton says:

    30 MU’s for time. 26 and change. That’s right. You heard me.

    Broad Jump: 9’3″1/4

    21-18-15-12-9-6-3
    Power cleans w/ 135 lb
    GHD situps
    Back ext

    22 something.

  23. Andrew says:

    30 muscle-ups for time
    16:12

    Blazing fast. The goal was to finish… and I did. Success!!

  24. Siu says:

    Practiced power cleans up to 95lbs

    Practiced overhead squats x5 up to 105lbs

    Watched the boys jump very long distances

  25. Melissa H says:

    deadlift
    1 x 5 @ 155

    shoulder press
    3 x 5 @ 60

    pull ups…I love pull ups.

  26. Glenn says:

    Wow! Lots of good stuff today from everyone!

    Good Luck Arjuna – you’re in great hands with Tim. (You’ll be posting recovery WODs in no time. We look forward to tracking your steady return! Keep us posted with your early post-op thoughts/insight. Others may have to undergo some surgery and your experience/perspective would be great!)

    Brief warm up/stretch then Hollywood sit ups

    5 rounds: 800m / 15 thrusters w/96lbs /rope climb from floor/30 flutter kicks

    Rounds 1-3 Heavy: (wearing 26lb vest, also on run carrying 60lb sandbag)
    Round 4: Vest only
    Round 5: No additional weight (very pleased to get last 15 thrusters unbroken – good mental work for Fran when she rears her ugly head)
    36:04

    200 push ups (with Scott and Stephen)
    FCS at home

  27. katyv says:

    Skill day, Worked on CTB, Ring Dips, and Pistols.

    800m heavy sandbag run, 4:20

Leave a Reply

