Wednesday – WOD

Part 1:
Bench press, 5 @ 40%, 5 @ 50%, 5 @ 60%

Part 2:
1000m row
30 burpee box jumps, 24″
1000m row

24 Responses to Wednesday – WOD

  1. Tim the V says:

    Intriguing. Are these burpee box jumps the ones I’ve seen where the goal is to jump completely over the box, or just on top of it?

  2. Stephen says:

    The latter, Tim. Simply replace the jump/clap of a regular burpee with a standard range of motion box jump.

  3. Andrew says:

    umm… this looks terrible.

  4. Holly says:

    I am sad to report my Fran time. I had big hopes this morning, and it just didn’t pan out. Last time I did it in the afternoon, I think I do better when I have been awake awhile.

    8:00 on the button is my time. This is 14 seconds slower:(

  5. Arjuna says:

    Regional Individual WODS announced!!!!!
    #1 – The Complex
    5-4-3-2-1 Reps of the MU and Complex

    •Muscle Ups
    •Barbell Complex 115LB Men/65LB Women
    •Complex includes – Power Clean, Front Squat, Overhead, Back Squat, Overhead – All movements will have clear completion.

    Individual Challenge #2 – The Run
    Approx 5K Trail Run with very large hill and sandbags

    Individual Challenge #3 – The Deadlift
    1 Rep Max Deadlift– Each athlete will have a bar, an infinite supply of plates and ten minutes to achieve their max deadlift

    Individual Challenge #4 – The Chipper
    50 Box Jumps 24″/20″
    40 Kettlebell Overhead Swings 24/16kg
    30 Burpees with jump over sand bag
    20 Sand Bag Cleans from ground to front squat 40/20lbs
    10 Dumbbell Shoulder to Overhead 65/40lbs
    20 Sand Bag Cleans from ground to front squat 40/20lbs
    30 Burpees with jump over sand bag
    40 Kettlebell Overhead Swings 24/16kg
    50 Box Jumps 24″/20″

  6. Amy TV says:

    Part 1:
    Bench press, 5 @25, 5 @ 35, 5 @ 40

    Part 2:
    1000m row = 4:28
    30 burpee box jumps, 24″
    1000m row = 4:35
    Total: Around ~15:00 min

    I really need to get over my fear of jumping on the box. Things would be a lot quicker if I could just jump, Thanks for the great coaching, Arjuna. Part 2 was a struggle for me because it had a lot of my “suck list”.

  7. Andrea says:

    Amy, dear, you are not alone…

  8. MegsT says:

    I just looked at today’s WOD and thought it would be hard… then i looked at the Regional Individual WOD’s… today’s not that bad afterall. GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!!!!

  9. Jeff says:

    1. Snatch work that ended in the epic fail of dropping 135 lbs on my back. Awesome.

    2. Rows and burpee box jumps – 11:20

  10. Kristin (aka Mrs. Glenn) says:

    Did my first Fran ever as RX’d 10:02 and managed to crack my chin open mid thruster half way through the round of 15. Had a moment of doubt about continuing, but pushed through – largely because of the incredible support of the mid-day CFN posse. I can’t think of many other situations I’ve been in when the support was so genuine and such a critical part of individual success.You guys brings out the best in me every time, and sometimes when I don’t believe, YOU do.

    Thank you to all who were there to help me with form and see me lose my Fran virginity today 🙂

    Huge thanks also to my hubby for giving me 3 stitches, despite interrupting his own workout to take me up to his office. I will forever have my Fran tatoo now 😉

  11. Melissa H says:

    You did a great job today Kristen! Thank you for helping me. Having you in my corner today really helped. your encouragement and advice were much needed and appreciated.

  12. Ted says:

    Wow, those regional WOD’s look awesome … and quite painful. Good luck to everyone!

  13. Jim C says:

    row burpee row

    11:07

    Thanks to Brent for taking on the role of coxswain for the last 300 meters, helped immensely.

  14. Holly says:

    Great job Kristen. That is awesome that you finished.

  15. Jessie Heikenfeld says:

    Love that noise when you crack your chin. Great job on Fran, Kristen and now you have battle scars to prove it.

    row burpee row
    13:42

  16. C-Dub says:

    You’re a true badass Kristin! Congrats on your first Fran.

  17. Greg Harris says:

    1. bench 3×5@ 135 2. 13:42 Substituted100x 35lb dumbbell swing, 30x burpees with 35lb dumbbells, 100x 35lb dumbbell swings.

  18. Tim the V says:

    Did the bench and squat deloads today at no real weight. Bench got up to 105, squats to 130.

    Then the rowing – burpee/box hybrids WOD in 12:40. Not terrible. I enjoy rowing, strange as that is. Burpees, on the other hand, are just not a favorite.

    Everyone who’s going to regionals, go kick some serious butt! Y’all are badass, you just need to prove it again!

  19. Andrew says:

    1) 65, 80, 95
    2) 12:59

    Man… my rowing is terrible. I was sub 4mins on the first 1k and totally fell apart on the second one – 4:20ish.

  20. Andrea says:

    19:32 (not a fan of box jumps as you all know)

  21. Thcott says:

    1) 100, 125, 159
    2) 13:15

    the second row was a wake-up call on how improper my rowing “technique” has been….

  22. Rob W says:

    Well Put Jim C, Brent is nothing else if not a Coxsman!

    Did the WOD in 11:34, pretty happy with it.

  23. Stephen says:

    Test run of Event 1 of the Affiliate Cup:

    1 round of:

    20 kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood
    10 pull-ups, CTB
    20 burpees
    10 box jumps, 24″

    Finished in 2:35, with the burpees taking a full minute – they will definitely be the limiting factor in the team WOD. Warmed up with demo of individual chipper event moves, deadlifts, and muscle-ups for the movement standards video for this weekend’s events.

  24. babs says:

    started with a few hspu reps. worked on snatch up to 90(PR). should have gotten 95, but lost my balance.

    1 round of:
    20 kettlebell swings, 1 pood
    10 pull-ups, CTB
    20 burpees
    10 box jumps, 20″
    4:03

    most def will move faster friday.

Leave a Reply

